Swimming 101 continued…

Bubbles are my friends right?  Yep.  I  started refining my breathing skills and then my time in the pool.  20 minutes…35 minutes and at least 2x’s a week of straight swimming.  Now working on my swimming technique.  Breaststroke seemed the easiest except my husband said I looked like I was dog paddling especially when I grew tired.  Freestyle was the hardest because I was always out of breath when I did a lap.  And May was getting closer.

Then, a major setback.   

My torn tendon on my right foot because of overcompensation.
I had had plantar fasciitis for about three years on and off and lately it had gotten worse.  I had always worn Brooks and had switched to Newtons to run differently because the heel pain was unbearable.  Well when I started in the Newtons, I was running on my mid foot and rolling my foot outward.  Long story short, I would not be able to run or even bike for at least 8-12 weeks and would have to go to PT twice a week.  No Tri for me.  I was disappointed beyond belief.   

    
 Cheering on my husband as he completes his first Tri
No running meant more time in the pool for exercise, which means I got more comfortable in the water.  I just did my first OWS(open water swim) and was okay.  Am I a Michael Phelps?  No way but I am more confident with my swimming and I feel like it’s not a good workout week unless I swim at least 2-3 times a week.  Injured? Need something new in your workout routine?  Give swimming a try.  One important piece of advice, hydrate.  You may be surrounded by water but you can’t drink it so have a water bottle by your lane.  Want to measure how far you’ve swum?  Waterproof Garmins, I haven’t personally tried it but I’ve seen other swimmers with them on.  I kept track the old fashion way-counting my laps & paying attention to the clock  on the pool wall.  I also forgot that measuring your distance is like the track distance-400 m=1/4 mile, 800m=1/2 mile and so forth.  The most I’ve done is 950m and working towards that 1600m! 

It’s not about the destination it’s about the journey,

Mercedes

 

Leave a comment